Dickens In America

10x30 mins

Miriam Margolyes retraces the route of Charles Dickens' 19th century road-trip though America to find out what has changed in the since the great author's visit to the States - and what hasn't.

Based on Dickens' little-known record of his 1842 journey, AMERICAN NOTES, Margolyes sets out on the first leg of her 6,000 mile journey starting at the V&A Museum and Charles Dickens House in London - where she meets Dickens' great-great-grandson - before sailing across the Atlantic on board the Queen Mary 2 to New York.

Production Information

Broadcaster: BBC Four/Two

TX Date: January 2005

Total Episodes: 10

Duration: 30 mins

Executive Producer(s): Colin Cameron

Presenter(s): Miriam Margoyles

Distribution Information: All3Media International